High school vocalists compete at Songbook regionals

5/7/2014 3:00:00 PM


CONTACTS: Chris Lewis, Director of Programs
917-334-7160; clewis@feinsteininitiative.org

John Hughey, Director of External Relations
317-660-3377; jhughey@TheCenterForThePerformingArts.org

High school vocalists compete at Songbook regionals

CARMEL, IN (May 6, 2014) – Starting May 10, high school vocalists from around the United States will convene at regional events for the 2014 Great American Songbook Vocal Academy & Competition. Regional competitions will take place in Atlanta (May 10), Ann Arbor (May 17), Plano (May 31), Chicago (June 7), New York (June 14), and Los Angeles (June 28). The regional events include a full day workshop followed by an evening performance.

Produced by the Michael Feinstein Great American Songbook Initiative, the annual endeavor is the only U.S. competition dedicated solely to the music from Broadway, Hollywood musicals, and the Tin Pan Alley era of the early to mid-twentieth century. Finalists will then convene July 20-25 at the Initiative’s headquarters in Carmel, Indiana. Five-time Grammy nominee, Michael Feinstein, and other top music industry professionals will conduct workshops and master classes throughout the week, leading up to the final competition performance on July 25 in the 1,600 seat Palladium concert hall at the Center for the Performing Arts.

At the July finals, one student will be awarded the title of Great American Songbook Youth Ambassador, $3000, and the chance of a lifetime: the opportunity to perform with Michael Feinstein. The Youth Ambassador will serve for one year, with opportunities to perform throughout the year. Other awards include Songbook Inspiration Award and Songbook Celebration Award, each receiving $1000 toward continuing music education.

Southeast Region: May 10 at Kopleff Recital Hall, Georgia State University, 10 Peachtree Ctr. Ave., Atlanta, GA. Finalists represent Alabama, Georgia, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia:

  • Olivia Babuka Black - Atlanta, GA (Paideia High School)
  • MalenaD'Amico - Lake Worth, FL (A. W. Dreyfoos High School of the Arts)
  • Liane Houde – Kennesaw, GA (The Walker School)
  • Sophia Marques - West Palm Beach, FL (A.W. Dreyfoos High School of the Arts)
  • Isabella Muller – Longwood, FL (Lake Howell High School)
  • Thomas Nightingale - Ponte Vedra, FL (Ponte Vedra High School)
  • Emeline Phinney - Rocky Face, GA (Dalton High School)
  • GraysonSamuels - St. Petersburg, FL (Pinellas Center for the Arts at Gibbs High School)
  • AllisonTaylor - West Palm Beach, FL (Oxbridge Academy)
  • Tommy Wilson – Oakton, VA (Oakton High School)

Midwest Region: May 17 at The Ark, 316 S. Main St., Ann Arbor, MI. Finalists represent Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and West Virginia:

  • Paige Brown – Indianapolis, IN (Franklin Central High School)
  • Abigal Crump – Mooresville, IN (Mooresville High School)
  • Sara Langenberger – Greenfield, IN (Greenfield Central High School)
  • Sydney Sorrell – Carmel, IN (Carmel High School)
  • Jacob Stuckert – Grove City, OH (Grove City High School)
  • Katie Swaney – Greenwood, IN (Center Grove High School)
  • Mattie Tom – Carmel, IN (Carmel High School)
  • April Varner – Toledo, OH (Notre Dame Academy)
  • Annie Weidner – Zionsville, IN (Zionsville Community High School)
  • Tanner Wenzler – Madison, IN (Southwestern High School)

South Central Region: May 31 at International Conservatory of Performing Arts, 3321 Premier Dr., Plano, TX. Finalists represent Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Texas:

  • Joel Anderson – Choctaw, OK (Choctaw High School)
  • Maddie Baillio – League City, TX (Clear Falls High School)
  • Gracie Duson – Houston, TX (High School For Performing &Visual Arts)
  • Leah Huber – Haughton, LA (Airline High School)
  • Kathryn Kingwell – Plano, TX (Liberty High School)
  • Kaycee Murto – Garland, TX (JJ Pearce High School)
  • Adrianne Owings – Little Rock, AK (Episcopal Collegiate School)
  • Nia Savoy – Shreveport, LA (Caddo Magnet High School)
  • Hannah Shoaf – Arnett, OK (Arnett High School)
  • Taylor Stammen – Plano, TX (Plano Senior High School)

North Central Region: June 7 at Ganz Hall, Roosevelt University, 425 S. Wabash (Auditorium Bldg 7th floor), Chicago, IL. Finalists represent Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, and Wisconsin:

  • Aimee Bushby – Elmwood Park, IL (Elmwood Park High School)
  • Viktor Freesmeier – St. Louis, MO (Grand Center Arts Academy)
  • Lauren Goskie – Pevely, MO (Hillsboro High School)
  • Milla Guerra – Chicago, IL (Chicago High School for the Arts)
  • Molly Hernandez – Glen Ellyn, IL (Glenbard West High School)
  • Sophia Manternach – Dubuque, IA (Hempstead High School)
  • Drew Mabusth – Dubuque, IA (Hempstead High School)
  • Ciera Schmidt – Pewaukee, WI (Arrowhead High School)
  • Lizzy Schroeder – Dubuque, IA (Hempstead High School)
  • Kate Wild – Glen Ellyn, IL (Glenbard West High School)

Northeast Region: June 14 at Yamaha Artist Services, Piano Salon, 689 Fifth Avenue, 3rd Floor, New York, NY. Finalists represent Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island:

  • Caitlin Aloia – Doylestown, PA (Gwynedd Mercy Academy High School)
  • Joshua Batstone – Fulton, NY (Home school)
  • Merissa Beddows – Yonkers, NY (Yonkers Montessori Academy)
  • Phoebe Costello – New York, NY (LaGuardia HS of Performing Arts)
  • Claire Dickson – Medford, MA (Home school)
  • Matt Hoffman – Stony Brook, NY (Ward Melville High School)
  • Sydney Howard – Fairport, NY (Fairport High School)
  • Adam Kruschwitz – Rochester, NY (Brighton High School)
  • Sophia Scarpulla – Rochester, NY (Greece Arcadia High School)
  • Noah Virgile – Lexington, MA (Lexington High School)

Western Region: June 28 at The State Playhouse, California State University Los Angeles, 5151 University Dr., Los Angeles, CA. Finalists represent California and Nevada:

  • Christina Euphrat - San Anselmo, CA (Sir Francis Drake High School)
  • Zach Gamble - Piedmont, CA (Piedmont High School)
  • Lana Graves - Palo Alto, CA (Palo Alto High School)
  • Gautam Nair - San Jose, CA (Lynbrook High School)
  • Jacqueline Neeley – Danville, CA (Monte Vista High School)
  • Claire Nordstrom - Pacific Palisades, CA (Harvard-Westlake School)
  • Jordan Plutzer - San Carlos, CA (St. Francis High School)
  • Luana Psaros - Goleta, CA (Dos Pueblos High School)
  • Emily Rice - Grass Valley, CA (Bear River High School)
  • Angelica Tan - West Covina, CA (Walnut High School)

The mission of the Michael Feinstein Great American Songbook Initiative is to inspire and educate by celebrating the Great American Songbook.

# # #